The Orana Region

The Orana region stretches across the Central West and Western region of NSW. The Orana, meaning 'Welcome' in Wiradjuri, is the largest and most diverse region in the State, covering an area of 25% of NSW. It services a population of over 120,000 people. The region encompasses 13 Local Government areas, with major regional towns including Dubbo, Mudgee and Cobar.

The region is traversed by a number of river systems including the Darling and Macquarie.

Population: 122 897 
Gross Regional Product: approx. $7 billion 
Major Industries:

  • Mining
  • Agriculture
  • Public administration, health & community services

Click here to view our community profile.