RDA Orana is an incorporated not for profit association, lead by a regional committee of industry and government representatives supporting economic development across the Orana region. We achieve this by building partnerships and working with all governments and agencies to respond to local priorities and needs.

Our region is the largest and most diverse region in the state, covering an area of 25% of NSW. It services a population of more than 121,000.

Our region extends from Mudgee in the east to Bourke in the west. It comprises the local government areas of Bogan, Bourke, Brewarrina, Cobar, Coonamble, Dubbo Region, Gilgandra, Mid-Western Region, Narromine, Walgett, Warren and Warrumbungle.

Our Purpose

To support the development of the Orana Region by facilitating industry collaboration, encouraging public and private investment and supporting cooperation between all stakeholders.

Our Vision

A regional powerhouse recognised for production, value-adding, linkages and entrepreneurship.

Our Mission

Provision of regional intelligence to:

  1. Create connections and growth
  2. Grow industry and infrastructure investment
  3. Grow our workforce

Our Charter

Regional Development Australia Orana is part of a national network of 52 committees made up of local leaders who work with all levels of government, business and community groups to support the development of their regions.

In NSW our core funding comes from the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications through the Regional Development Australia program. In October 2020, RDAs received a commitment of continued funding from the Commonwealth (to 30 June 2025) along with a revised charter:



Regional Development Australia (RDA) is a national network of Committees made up of local leaders who work with all levels of government, business and community groups to support the economic development of their regions. 

RDA Committees have an active and facilitative role in their communities with a clear focus on growing strong and confident regional economies that harness their competitive advantages, seize economic opportunities and attract investment. 

Collaborating with other RDA Committees, all levels of government, and the private sector, RDA Committees will: 

a) Facilitate regional economic development outcomes, investment, local procurement and jobs. 

b) Promote greater regional awareness of and engagement with Australian Government policies, grant programs and research. 

c) Improve Commonwealth regional policy-making by providing intelligence and evidence-based advice to the Australian Government on regional development issues. 

d) Co-ordinate the development of a strategic regional plan, or work with suitable existing regional plans that will align with the Commonwealth’s regional priorities. 

Assistant Minister for Regional Development 

28 October 2020

Get email alerts on the latest news and upcoming events.